Obervogt Tscharner und sein Bericht

Niklaus Emanuel Tscharner (1727-1794) was a member of an established patrician family of Bern and distinguished himself as an economist and magistrate. He was elected to the Council in 1764 and began his career in the service of the City and the Republic of Bern. By lot he was appointed  to serve as Governor of Schenkenberg im damaligen Berner Aargau und die sechs Jahre in diesem Amt gehörten wohl zu den fruchtbarsten Phasen seines Lebens.

 

Portrait of Niklaus E. Tscharner
Niklaus E. Tscharner (1727-1794) Wikimedia Commons

Der Berner Staatsarchivar Karl Wälchli beschreibt Tscharner wie folgt 1):„Tscharner war vierzigjährig, als er seinen Auftritt im Schloss Wildenstein hielt. Er hatte sich in der Ökonomischen Gesellschaft von Bern einen Namen gemacht, galt als ein besonderer Kenner in Fragen der Waldwirtschaft und als Vorkämpfer für die Steigerung des Ertrags von Landwirtschaftsbetrieben durch rationelle Bewirtschaftungs-methoden.“

Sofort nach der Amtsübernahme machte er sich daran, sein Amt - wie wir heute sagen würden - einer demographisch-ökonomischen Analyse zu unterziehen. Frucht dieser Analyse ist die «Physisch-ökonomische Beschreibung des Amtes Schenkenberg», eine über 100 Seiten und sechs Tabellen umfassende Abhandlung, die 1771 in den Schriften der Ökonomischen Gesellschaft von Bern veröffentlicht wurde.

Tscharners Einfluss auf die Landwirtschaft

In diesem Bericht wird die Bevölkerung von Tscharner als „stark, gesund, ungeschickt, der arbeit gewohnt, dem landbau ergeben“ beschrieben, der Geist entsprechend „roh, eingeschränkt, einfältig“ und das Herz „aufrichtig, gelassen, gleichgültig“. Die Armut mache den Charakter noch leichtsinniger und das wiederum sei „das stärkste Hindernis zur Äufnung seiner Kenntniss, zur Verbesserung seiner Umstände“. Das Hauptproblem war also die Armut und ihre Ursachen.

Im Anhang des Berichtes von Tscharner wird für jedes der 9 Kirchspiele im Amt Schenkenberg die Anzahl Feuerstellen bzw. Haushalte aufgeführt, die Anzahl Männer, Frauen, Kinder, deren Alter und Zivilstand und ob es sich um Waisen, Arme, „Elende von mittleren Jahren“ oder Alte handelt. Weitere Tabellen enthalten Angaben zu den Handwerksleuten, des Viehbestandes und Gütern wie Häuser, Wiesen, Äcker und Reben.

Dazu meint Staatsarchivar Karl Wälchli: „Gestützt auf diese Analyse versuchte der neue Obervogt die materiellen Grundlagen der Bevölkerung, die vor allem im Reb- und Ackerbau tätig war zu verbessern. Nach Auffassung der Agrarreformer bildete der Gemeinbesitz an Allmenden und der «gemeine Weidgang» das Haupthindernis für eine bessere Nutzung der landwirtschaftlichen Bodenfläche. Nach rund dreijähriger Arbeit hatte Tscharner in allen Gemeinden die Zustimmung für eine neue Ordnung erwirkt.“

Tscharners Datenquellen

Wie aber kam Tscharner zu den detaillierten Informationen über die Bevölkerung? Mindestens ein Teil dieser Daten wurde vom Dorfpfarrer erhoben, ein Beispiel dafür ist das „Haus Besuchungs Rodel“ der Kilchhöri Elfigen, für die drei Dörfer Bözen, Effingen und Elfingen. Dieses Rodel befindet sich im Pfarrachiv Bözen.

Wie der folgende Auszug zeigt, handelt es sich dabei um eine Momentaufnahme aller Bewohner der drei Gemeinden zu dieser Zeit mit umfangreichen Zusatzinformationen, wie Geburtsdatum, Aufenthaltsort der Personen (z.B. in fremden Kriegsdiensten) und Familienübernamen, die zum Teil heute noch in Gebrauch sind. Aufgeführt sind 116 Häuser, 187 Haushaltungen und 967 Einwohner.

Example Page of House Visit Register 1767 Hausbesuchungsrodel
Haus Besuchungs Rodel, Seite 51

Für den Familienforscher ist dies eine äusserst wertvolle zusätzliche Quelle zur Validierung und Ergänzung von Daten in den Kirchenbüchern. Nebst den Familien die vor 1800 in den drei Gemeinden eingebürgert waren (siehe Famliennamenbuch der Schweiz), sind folgende Familiennamen verschwunden: Keller, Nägeli, Ott, Riniker, Schmid, Spengler, Spillmann, Vogt, Wägli.

Die Erhebung von Pfarrer Johann Stäbli von 1767-1769 wurde transkribiert und ist auf Anfrage als PDF Datei erhältlich vom Author.

Die Residenz des Obervogtes

Wildenstein Castle in Veltheim, Switzerland
Schloss Wildenstein (by Freaktalius, Wikimedia Commons)

Schloss Wildenstein in Veltheim, ehemaliger Wohnsitz der Obervögte von Schenkenberg ist heute in Privatbesitz und wurde kürzlich renoviert.

Quellen:

1): Der bernische Landvogt im Aargau, am Beispiel von Obervogt Niklaus Emanuel Tscharner von Schenkenberg, 1919, Karl. F. Wälchli (1991)

 

de_DE
en_US de_DE

Governor Tscharner and his survey

Niklaus Emanuel Tscharner (1727-1794) was a member of an established patrician family of Bern and distinguished himself as an economist and magistrate. He was elected to the Council in 1764 and began his career in the service of the City and the Republic of Bern. By lot he was appointed  to serve as Governor of Schenkenberg in the Bernese Aargau in 1767. The six years in this office were probably one of the most fruitful phases of his life.

 

Portrait of Niklaus E. Tscharner
Niklaus E. Tscharner (1727-1794) Wikimedia Commons

The Bernese State Archivist Karl Waelchli describes Tscharner as follows 1):“Tscharner was forty years old when he started his reign at Wildenstein Castle. He had made a name for himself in the Economic Society of Bern, was regarded as an expert in forestry issues and as a champion for increasing the yield of farms through rational farming methods.”

Immediately after taking office, he set out to conduct – as we would say today – a demographic-economic analysis. The fruit of this analysis is the “Physical-Economic Description of the Office of Schenkenberg”, a treatise comprising more than 100 pages and six tables, which was published in 1771 in the reports of the Economic Society of Bern.

Tscharners impact on agriculture

In this report Tscharner describes the population as “strong, healthy, clumsy, accustomed to work, devoted to farming”, the spirit accordingly “raw, limited, simple” and the heart “sincere, calm, indifferent”. Poverty makes the character even more reckless, and that, in turn, is “the strongest obstacle to expanding his knowledge, to improving his circumstances”. So the main problem was poverty and its causes.

In the appendix to the Tscharner report, for each of the 9 parishes in the Schenkenberg district, the number of fireplaces or households are listed, the number of men, women, children, their age and civil status and whether they are orphans, poor, middle-aged or elderly. Other tables contain information on craftsmen, livestock and estates such as houses, meadows, fields and vineyards.

State archivist Karl Waelchli says: “Based on this analysis, the new Governor tried to improve the material foundations of the population, which was mainly active in viticulture and farming. According to the agricultural reformers, common property (allmenden) and the “common grazing” were the main obstacle to better use of agricultural land. After about three years of work, Tscharner had won approval for new rules of cultivation in all municipalities.”

Tscharners data sources

But how did Tscharner obtain all the detailed information about the population? At least some of this data was collected by the village pastor, an example of which is the “House Visit Register” of the Parish Bözen, for the three villages Boezen, Effingen and Elfingen. This register is located in the parish archive of Boezen.

As the following excerpt shows, this register  is a snapshot of all the inhabitants of the three municipalities at that time with extensive additional information, such as date of birth, whereabouts of the persons (e.g. in foreign military services) and family nicknames, some of which are still in use today. It lists 116 houses, 187 households and 967 inhabitants.

Example Page of House Visit Register 1767 Hausbesuchungsrodel
House Visit Register, Page 51

For the family researcher, this additional information source is extremely useful to validate and enrich the data found in the church records. In addition to the families that were inhabiting the three municipalities before 1800 (see family name book of Switzerland), the following surnames have since disappeared: Keller, Naegeli, Ott, Riniker, Schmid, Spengler, Spillmann, Vogt, Waegli.

The survey done by Father Johann Staebli from 1767-1769 was transcribed and is available on request as a PDF file from the author.

The Bailiff’s residence

Wildenstein Castle in Veltheim, Switzerland
Wildenstein Castle (by Freaktalius, Wikimedia Commons)

The Wildenstein Castle in Veltheim, former residence of the Governors of Schenkenberg is privately owned and was recently renovated.

Sources:

1): Der bernische Landvogt im Aargau, am Beispiel von Obervogt Niklaus Emanuel Tscharner von Schenkenberg, 1919, Karl. F. Wälchli (1991)

 

en_US
de_DE en_US